• Home /
  • News / Labour increases majority on Ipswich Council

Labour increases majority on Ipswich Council

Only one seat changed hands in Ipswich in Thursday's Borough Council elections - a Labour gain to add to the eleven seats the Party was defending.  Labour's share of the vote increased across the town.

Jan Parry has been elected as the new Labour Councillor for Holywells ward after winning the seat by just 45 votes. Jan (right) is pictured leaving the Count with County Councillor Mandy Gaylard and fellow Holywells Councillor Barry Studd. The result was announced at Ipswich Corn Exchange following a tense recount that went on into the early hours this morning.

Full results in Ipswich on Thursday 3rd May

Alexandra: John Cook (Lab) 1,245, Katherine West (C) 499, Tom Wilmot (G) 190, Richard Thompson (LD) 147 – Labour hold

Bixley: Edward Phillips (C) 1,264, Paul Anderson (Lab) 690, Trevor Powell (LD) 183 – Conservative hold

Bridge: Colette Allen (Lab) 994, Murray Brunning (C) 483, Charlotte Armstrong (G) 124, Immo Weichert (LD) 66 – Labour hold

Castle Hill: Robin Vickery (C) 1,026, Darren Heaps (Lab) 694, Tim Lockington (LD) 216 – Conservative hold

Gainsborough: Sheila Handley (Lab) 987, Samantha Murray (C) 557, Shayne Pooley (UKIP) 148, Ben Magrath (G) 66, Robin Whitmore (LD) 32 – Labour hold

Gipping: Elizabeth Hughes (Lab) 962, Mark Phillips (C) 504, Robert Chambers (LD) 133 – Labour hold

Holywells: Janice Parry (Lab) 1,048, Heather Mills (C) 1,003, Jenny Rivett (G) 137, Paul Daley (LD) 78 – Labour gain from Conservatives

Priory Heath: Daniel Maguire (Lab) 1,013, Andy Shannon (C) 661, Andy Patmore (G) 99, Nicholas Jacob (LD) 96 – Labour hold

Rushmere: Sandra Gage (Lab) 1,283, Paul Cawthorn (C) 809, Julie Fletcher (LD) 157 – Labour hold

Sprites: Helen Armitage (Lab) 895, Mike Scanes (C) 601, Alan Cotterell (UKIP) 109, Conrad Packwood (LD) 39 – Labour hold

St John’s: Elango Elavalakan (Lab) 1,159, James Harding (C) 690, Edward Packard (LD) 148, Ned Harrison (G) 108 – Labour hold

St Margaret’s: Inga Lockington (LD) 1,493, Simon Fisher (C) 734, Jeremy Brown (Lab) 615, Kirsty Wilmot (G) 104, David Tabane (Ind) 19 – Lib Dem hold

Stoke Park: Nadia Cenci (C) 991, Kelvin Cracknell (Lab) 726, Barry Broom (G) 86, Maureen Haaker (LD) 49 – Conservative hold

Westgate: Colin Kreidewolf (Lab) 999, Sam Downer (C) 472, Martin Hore (LD) 152, John Mann (G) 122 – Labour hold

Whitehouse: Colin Wright (Lab) 838, Stephen Lark (C) 414, Tony Gould (UKIP) 144, Malcolm Mitchell (LD) 69 – Labour hold

Whitton: Christine Shaw (Lab) 996, John Downie (C) 806, Daniel Smith (LD) 92 – Labour hold

Labour won 12 of the 16 wards being contested on Thursday, the Conservatives three and the Lib Dems one. The overall position on Ipswich Borough Council following this election is: Labour 34 (+1), Conservative 12 (-1), LibDem 2.

Do you like this post?


Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

The Labour Party will place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better.

Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site.

To find out more about these cookies, see our privacy notice. Use of this site confirms your acceptance of these cookies.